top of page

Dear Brene,

It's appropriate that I'm writing to you right now. There's a quote I saw today that goes" When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, 'I used everything you gave me." I relistened to one of your videos, I know the secret to happiness is gratitude, but I forgot one has to PRACTICE gratitude. The other morning I woke up and said, "thank you for _____". I unknowingly said, "thank you for pillows". It made me giggle. That giggle made me want to cry. Is this gratitude? Is gratitude that heightened feeling of emotion that you have nowhere else to go but up? What I'm grateful for right now? My window with the perfect sunlight and portable mirror. My pen which seems to never run out of ink, ear plugs so I can sleep, the ability to see color, and my ability to make people smile. Is that how it works? Am I doing this right? I still feel so empty.

Sincerely,

Anonymous

bottom of page